Wheels

So I awoke today feeling more cheery than yesterday; it’s amazing what a night of good sleep will do. I also had a bit less pain and could go longer between Vicodins. I’m down to 1 every 5 hours or so, which is less than half of what I was taking in the hospital. I’m pretty excited to get off it entirely as soon as I can.

Anyhow, after lunch I was feeling good enough to ride along with Michael to pick up our CSA share of veggies and visit Lowe’s and Wegman’s. We brought the wheelchair for the latter two stops, because I’m about 16 times slower than regular people with my walker, and honestly I didn’t know if my bod would put up with a whole vertical shopping trip.

And I am oh so glad I brought the wheels! So much fun! For the first time since my accident, I got to move at least a part of my body fast, continuously, and without pain. I figured out how to pivot and turn corners, and I started trying to find excuses to go down extra aisles. I might have to get Michael to take me out for evening spins in the chair.

While at Lowe’s, I also had my first experience using a wheelchair-accessible restroom in a wheelchair. I have a feeling it was the smallest legally permissible wheelchair restroom, as I could get the chair in and the door closed, but then I couldn’t get the chair turned around, nor could I get the front of myself to the front of the toilet. So I ended up kind of situating myself sidesaddle on the throne and calling it good enough. In hindsight (HA! Hindsight in a bathroom!) I think I should’ve backed myself into the stall…

Get to meet with my intrepid Physical Therapist tomorrow afternoon and get assessed. I’ll be dreaming of a whole rainbow of Therabands tonight…

And thanks, everyone, for the great comments! They give me a lift – a kick in any pants that might be turning crabby.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wheels

  1. Bjorn says:

    Judging by the fact that I can’t read the labels in the frozen food section, you must be flying! Something tells me you’ll be racing someone or something in that chair by the end of all this.

    And as always, I am in awe of your puns πŸ™‚

  2. Ruth H says:

    Looks like a woman with wheels will race, no matter what’s she’s riding—–and it all started with a toy horse with wheels on the camp deck πŸ™‚ It’s good to see some humor—-also you have now become a handicap – accessible tester, whether you planned to or not. Another new perspective.

Leave a Reply

