Moving Along

So as I was getting ready to be discharged from the hospital, at least 3 nurses who were advising me on meds, diet, etc, said, “You know, the Vicodin can be known to bind you up.” Really, I thought? I’ve been perfectly regular, being that I usually only poop once every 18 days or so. “Yeah, I’ve noticed that…” I said. And then they advised me to use stool softeners (and, no, there is no grosser term than “stool softener”) and perhaps a gentle laxative.
One aide even advised that I just drink prune juice. I had to hold myself back from laughing out loud. I had been eating oatmeal every morning, fruit every chance I got, and as many vegetables as my finicky stomach could handle. (Except for the couple of days that I was really nauseous and didn’t eat much at all.) Probably a shot of prune juice was not going to do it.

So now things are slightly improved, but even with a diet of fresh fruit + Smart Bran cereal for breakfast, cabbage slaw and garbanzo beans for lunch, and roasted kale, tofu & cucumber salad for dinner, I still have to make the dreaded st___ so_____ my fourth food group. Eew.

Reason #45 to get off the freaking Vicodin ASAP!

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moving Along

  1. Sarah says:

    am so confused? thought a stool softner (and I’m sure there are grosser terms) was a laxative??

    anyway no need to explain – I don’t really need to know right now – and when I do need to know I’ll know who to go to…

    ps: apparently figs are even better than prunes fiber wise – just an FYI 😉

    • Oooh, figs. I even have some of those.

      And, uh, the SS just softens things up, where as the laxative moves ’em out. Best to take in tandem.

      Less gross topic tomorrow.

  2. Connie B says:

    Yeah, Vicodin will do that. Fun, eh? I have a nephew (-in law) that is laid up this summer with a smashed leg, and they changed him from Oxycontin to Morphine. Ick… He’s loopy AND bound up!!

  3. Ruth H says:

    With three nurses all giving advice, you have to know that this has been a frustration for LOTS of patients. —perhaps your doctor will have some better advice when you see her—hope so.

  4. Carolyn Aradine says:

    Hi Solveig,
    Your mom shared your blog with me and I’m glad to learn of your progress and great attitude too.
    Constipation … best thing (and I am surprised if no one suggested it) is Miralax (or equivalent generic) – it’s over-the-counter and basically a clear, no-taste drink that simply provides bulk by working as an osmotic laxative – retains water (see website below for more info). Works great – may need more than one day to see results depending on diet …. we’ve used it with kids with all sorts of gi issues with great results. It’s what I turn to if needed ….

    Miralax is Polyethylene Glycol 3350. More info from Pub Med (NIH) is at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0000241 (or just search by “Miralax”). Good luck.

    I agree you’d want to get off the Vicodin but this may be a good move while you still need it.

    Take care and keep up the good work.
    Carolyn

  5. Alexa says:

    yeah.. percocet does that also!

Leave a Reply

