Imaginary Eggshells

So yesterday I saw my fabulous Physical Therapist, Geoff Grell, at U of R Sports Medicine, and this morning I saw my orthopedist, Dr. Helen Wong, at Interlakes Orthopedic Surgery in Geneva. I am fortunate to have such good people to work with. Both Dr. Wong and Geoff obviously know their stuff and are taking the time to explain my injury & recovery prognosis to me. So here’s the nutshell:

1. X-rays look good. The fractures have not shifted, so they’re in good position to heal. And it hurt far, far less to get in position for the x-rays than in the hospital. All good news.

2. I have 2-4 more weeks of non-weight bearing on my right leg. At this point in the healing process, pressure can cause the breaks to re-open and have to begin healing again.  Geoff said to imagine that an egg is strapped to the bottom of my shoe. I can touch my foot to the ground, but I can’t break the eggshell. So I have to BE GOOD for 2 more weeks. If, at that point, sufficient healing has taken place, I can start some light weight bearing on my right leg and can dispense with the last 2 weeks of non-weight bearing. Like time off for good behavior. But until then, eggshell walking and only isometric or chair-bound exercises for my right leg.

3. I can do basically whatever I want from the waist up. Geoff gave me Therabands and tubing to do any upper body exercise I can think of. And hopefully a few that my coach, Mary Eggers, can think of, as she is a veritable well of functional strength knowledge. No sit-ups yet.

4. Until I get off this Vicodin, I can expect to be a little stoopid. Like I can function well enough to write this, to think relatively clearly, etc. But higher-level thinking or concentration, forget it. They said to expect to be able to concentrate for an hour at a time, maybe two, until I can go Vicodin-free during the day. And the last couple days’ efforts in using less Vicodin have taught me that I’m really not ready to go without.

5. We got a new prescription filled at Weggie’s after going to the doctor’s, and I took the opportunity to wheel some more! Man, I never realized how cool it is that grocery stores are flat and have smooth floors. Like a gym but with obstacles! While waiting for the prescription, I did a lap of the whole store, then zigzagged back through each aisle. And yeah, that 20 minutes pretty much wore me out! But after days of immobility, it felt good to move.

So…I am eagerly awaiting the first week of my Comeback Plan from my coach. I just miss having workouts to do and progress to make. I am also determined not to push my right side too fast. I do NOT want to go backwards with this!

And of course, I can’t forget to mention my fabulous partner, Michael, who has: driven me to all of my appointments, encouraged me to go do another lap of the grocery store, made lots of meals for me, accommodated my endless requests for condiments, tolerated my crabbiness and downness and anger, tried to locate the garments I describe (you know, that pink tank top…), washed all the dishes, done all the laundry, cleaned the cat boxes, talked with me about how I’ll get back on the literal and proverbial bike, and washed my sandals after I peed on them while trying to navigate another public restroom stall. He’s a gem, and he doesn’t get told so enough.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imaginary Eggshells

  1. Ruth H says:

    I couldn’t have said it better—Michael is a gem and a great care-taker!!:)

  2. Connie B says:

    Hey, Solveig- you’re making progress! Sounds like you have the perfect team to get you back on your feet/bike:)… When you wheel your way through Wegman’s (or any other grocery store) sometime, take note of what is shelved at wheel chair (kid’s eye) level. It’s especially interesting in the cereal aisle! Lots of marketing going on there:)…

    • Hi Connie – It’s true…I hadn’t really paid attention to what was at kids’ eye level, but I guess I did make note of the ice-cream sandwich flavored Pop Tarts yesterday. Hadn’t really been aware of those before… Actually, on my next grocery store trip, I should make a point to look at this stuff and then blog it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

