BBQ and Bruises

So I wrote yesterday after my doctor’s appointment, feeling pretty positive about the overall situation. I did a lot of moving around yesterday – from home to car to doctor, to car to Wegman’s, to car to home. In the midst of that I also navigated a bathroom with a regular-height toilet seat, wheeled myself around Weggie’s, and stretched a bit more than usual to get in position for x-rays. Toward the end of the day, my right leg felt a little bit swollen, and my pelvic area felt just kind of tight and swollen. A couple fleeting pains I hadn’t felt before, but nothing severe. I didn’t think much of it, took my Vicodin every 4-6 hours as usual, ate barbeque with Michael – more on that later – and watched a movie before bed.

And then getting into bed I noticed a new bruise – big, dark purple, right near my crotch – don’t worry, everyone, I will not document this with photos. And I kind of freaked out. What in blazes could I have done to cause that? I didn’t have any big impact, didn’t fall, maybe at most tightened some muscles suddenly while trying to navigate the restroom or get in and out of the car. But I got pretty nervous that I’d re-fractured something, that some bone fragment had punctured something. As usual, my fear was not of the pain but of the possibility that I’d done more damage, which would in turn necessitate more healing time. I am trying to be patient, but I so want to get back to thinking clearly and moving well.

So after some debate, I decided to call the doctor on call at Interlakes Orthopedic Surgery, who serendipitously was Dr. Wong, my doctor. We established that there had been no acute impact or sudden pain – no event that I could remember that triggered the bruise. I’m pretty sure that if I’d re-fractured something, I would have remembered the pain it would have caused. She told me that sometimes in an injury, bleeding takes place within or under tissues and takes time to come to the surface. (Or at least I think that’s what she said – let me tell you, midnight is not a good time for me to have a rational conversation!)

So I took my bedtime Vicodin and slept like a baby in my Lazy Boy chair. Seriously, Michael deserves a big, huge prize – like a Cervelo R3 and a year off work – for putting up with all this. Did I mention that I’m neither rational nor pleasant when I’m scared and overtired?

My bruise is still there (obviously), and my right leg is still stiff and a bit swollen. I still feel swelling and tightness right around my break site. So I’m taking it very easy today. Still in the Lazy Boy, having only eaten breakfast, watched Le Tour, had a snack, and napped today. I am frustrated. I want forward progress, and I felt like it was happening. I still don’t know what in hell I did to bring about this bruise & swelling & tightness. And I guess I’m still scared that I damaged myself worse, even though rationally I see that this is very unlikely. I know every path of healing has setbacks. I know that. But I don’t like it, and I wish I knew what to do to prevent another one or make this one better.

From my vantage point at the kitchen door. Veg & seitan on skewers, and lovely portabellas. I love how BBQ smells!

But in the midst of all that, life’s not all bad. Michael and I barbequed last night on our new charcoal grill. OK, Michael barbequed, and I sat at the kitchen table putting stuff on skewers. We did portabella mushrooms, golden zucchini, onions, red pepper, and seitan. (Seitan is made from wheat protein – basically gluten – has a really nice, rich, salty taste, and has a chewy texture somewhat reminiscent of meat. Although it’s been so long since I’ve eaten meat, it’s hard to reminisce…) Michael marinated and basted everything with a mixture of olive oil, tamari (natural soy sauce), rice vinegar, and agave nectar. YUM!! Everything turned out delicious, and we ate all of the grilled stuff on a bed of fresh arugula. What could be finer?

And last, a shout-out to one of my new inanimate friends, Stretch. Stretch is a long-handled reaching tool that lets me keep my cracked ass planted while maintaining much more control over everything within 3 feet of it. As you can see, today he helped me with my snack of Corn Thins, which are thin little popcorn cakes that are slightly salty, totally tasty, and perfect with a little peanut butter & banana.

Not quite stretchy enough to reach the light switch, though. But he means well.

Finally, I just learned about these cute running & fitness dresses called nuu-muus. They are seriously cute, and they look like perfect for my recovery as well as for the workouts and post-workouts that WILL return. Better yet, fellow Train-This athlete Kelly Covert is running a giveaway contest on her blog. Check it out here: http://www.trimommylife.com/2010/07/nuu-muu-review-and-giveaway.html

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Food, Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BBQ and Bruises

  1. Joan Richner says:

    Hi Solveig –
    Your mom shared your accident and your blog with me and I want you to know how sorry we are that this happened. I’m hoping that your recovery continues to move forward with few setbacks! Recently on the Highway 12 bike path, a woman fell off her bike breaking her collar bone, after being attacked by a red-wing blackbird. She must have been too close to the nest. Bjorn was in town to do the Paddle and Portage with Tom today. They took 1st in their category and 2nd overall in the aluminum division. I bet your mom will send you some photos. Glad you have such a great partner and want you to know we’ll be thinking of you!
    Joan

  2. Tammy says:

    you are a great blogger Suzanne said you were too !!,, I will have to come back to read more,, off to bartend for now !!

    • Thanks, Tammy! Glad you’re enjoying it; I’ll be back out there soon! Finally feeling good enough that I’m getting itchy to MOVE somehow, but still get worn out really quickly. And that whole non-weight-bearing thing gets in the way. 🙂 But soon!

Leave a Reply

