Monday Highlights

No big theme for today, just a bunch of little thoughts & events.

Milestone of the Day: I put my right sandal on ALL BY MY SELF!!

Present of the Day: New tank tops & running shorts – which are equally good for wheelchair rides and Lazy Boy sits – from Sierra Trading Post. Big discounts on good brand-name stuff; if you don’t know about these guys, you should visit at http://www.sierratradingpost.com. I just got the STP Visa card, on which I will NOT carry a balance but which will win me free shipping on each purchase… But I digress.

Sweet tank top and workout skirt from STP. Make me feel like an athlete even though I'm parked for the time being.

PT Highlight of the Day: More range of motion every day! I can toe-tap farther out than before and heel-slide farther than before. This is probably why I could manage the sandal.

Looking south over Canandaigua Lake.

Training Highlight of the Day: Wheeled around Kershaw Park with Michael this evening. Really kind of felt like taking my arms for a run: a bit of soreness at first, but once I got warmed up, it felt great to keep going. Watched the swimmers along the buoys, am looking forward to the time that the thought of pulling on a wetsuit doesn’t make me wince. I did dream about swimming last night…

Pharmacological Highlight of the Day: I took 2 Advil at 9am and 2 at 8pm. Had a little pain but not significant. So stinking happy to be able to cut back on the meds!

Dog & Cat Mom Moment of the Day: Talking with my mom on the phone at 9pm while sitting in the Lazy Boy. Big crash & breaking ceramic in the kitchen. Dogs look at me saying, “See, we’re both right here. WE didn’t do anything wrong.” Obviously it was Alice, our diabetic 13 year old cat going after our spent corn cobs. Rosie the dog notes the fact that I’m not moving very fast lately, slinks out to kitchen, grabs a corn cob, and brings it back to my BED, and starts to chomp. I yell & try to grab the cob with Stretch, my trusty Reaching Tool, but Rose is too fast. She takes the cob up to my PILLOW and keeps eating. Ugh. I’ll be sleeping in the Lazy Boy tonight!

Quote of the Day:
Interviewer to Jens Voight, German pro cyclist who just finished the Tour de France despite a 44 mph crash: “So Jens, you’re 39. How long are you going to keep riding professionally?”

Jens Voight: “Ja, Until they shoot me off my bike, I will keep asking for a contract!”

Gotta love it!

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Highlights

  1. Ruth H says:

    You are looking good in that new tank top! STP is definitely a good source !

  2. Charmaine Courts says:

    You write so well… your blog could become a book someday.. motivational for someone who has to climb back up the mountain…I am happy to see that each day brings improvements… thinking positive thoughts.
    C

    • Thanks Aunt Charmaine! I’m glad you’re liking the blog; it’s a great outlet for me and a fantastic excuse to take pictures. This accident could have been so much worse; this is really just a blip compared to what it could’ve been. Thanks again for the good thoughts.

  3. Tammy says:

    Solveigh,, you look great,, keep up the good workouts so you can get back on that bike !!! you are Amazing ! 🙂 keep smiling

Leave a Reply

