Trendlines

We all know that when you’re tracking progress – of a company’s sales, a person’s weight, an athlete’s performance, whatever – you need to look at the trendline over time. Sales, weight, and, say, swim test times, fluctuate day to day, and it is entirely normal to have down days. This would be one of those days.

My last couple of days have been really motivating – I got cleared for partial weight-bearing and even got to spin my legs on a recumbent bike at PT. My pain was so negligible that I was able to go without even Advil for about 48 hours without being uncomfortable. All this is fantastic, and it’s true that I’ve made big gains in range of motion, strength, and overall energy in the last few days.

But you know what? Today I am so tired that I can barely see straight. I slept for about 9 hours last night and just woke up from an hour-long afternoon nap. I caved at about 1pm today and took some more Advil. I’m not in blistering pain, but my acetabulum is sending me some messages that are telling me to back off on the weight bearing a bit. So I’m listening. And it’s frustrating. I’d like steady, unwavering progress, thank you.

So that’s the rotten part. The good parts of the day were visiting Bill Kauffman, our fabulous pedorthist in Shortsville, NY. He took foam molds of our feet so he can make us some custom sandals, in trade for our old minivan. Trust me, we’re getting a fair deal! And next door is Sweet Blessings, a lovely bakery where they specialize in frosted cutout cookies but also make some of the best cinnamon rolls and muffins I’ve had. We stopped in for a cinnamon roll & glazed lemon poppyseed muffin after our foot appointment, and they were delicious. Then home to my Lazy Boy, ready for a nap.

So I’m giving myself a day off from Physical Therapy exercises and upper-body resistance bands – which, as my coach knows, is HARD for me to do. But I need rest. Since I’ve been feeling better the last few days, I’ve moved around more and tried to do more than usual, and now my body needs to heal. So tonight Michael is making dinner – sweet corn, roasted green beans, seedless yellow-fleshed watermelon, and probably veggie brats – and we’ll watch a movie. Then I’ll try again tomorrow. 🙂

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

