Catching Up With Myself

It’s been a few days since I’ve blogged, and it’s kind of a funny feeling. Over the past few weeks I’ve become pretty accustomed to keeping this little daily journal, and it feels strange not to, like my memory is clogging up with thoughts I want to write down. So today is the time to catch up on the exciting happenings and stretches of dullness that have made up the past few days.

After-dinner walker walk. Note the right foot touching down. 🙂

First, the excitement! Michael and I had an outing last night, which began with dinner at Moe’s Southwest Grill. I’d never been to Moe’s before, but I read online that they offer seasoned tofu as one of their protein choices, and I thought we definitely needed to try. I am so grateful when restaurants make their menus accessible to non-meat-eaters. So I had a tasty southwest salad, with tofu & pinto beans, and we tried some of their salsas with chips. The only strange part is that various staff members yell “Welcome to Moe’s” intermittently, for no apparent reason. I don’t know if they do it when someone says a secret word, like on Pee Wee’s Playhouse, or what. But other than that, pretty good for a fast foody meal.

THEN, the excitement continued. After my Friday Physical Therapy session, where I did a fair amount of weight bearing on my right leg, I was SORE. So per the doc’s instructions, I backed off on the weight bearing until the pain abated, and then started gradually building back into weight bearing. By yesterday, I could put some weight on my right leg while walker-walking around the house, so after dinner, I did a lap around the little shopping plaza where Moe’s was located. NO PAIN!!! It’s getting so much easier to move, and my right leg kind of feels like it’s waking up. What a relief! We’ll see what they say at PT tomorrow, but I’m psyched for the next level of weight bearing and strength building. And note my attire in the walker pics; one of the perks of being stuck at home is that I can wear comfy, stretchy workout gear all the time. I love it! Maybe I’ll compile a portfolio of Armchair Fitness Fashion. You think?

My coach and I, decaffed up and ready to rock.

And lest you stop reading before I get to the BEST PART, here’s the best part. After dinner & walker walk, Michael and I got to meet with my coach, Mary Eggers, over Starbucks decafs. While Mary and my Train This teammates have been really supportive over the past month, there hasn’t been much Mary could do with coaching. Initially I thought I’d be able to do my PT a couple times a day, go wheelchair wheeling a couple times a week, and do upper body strength exercises with resistance bands 3 times a week. Ha! That would’ve been the Vicodin talking! I was doing well to get my PT done once a day, and maybe get one upper body session and a wheel-around or two per week. So there was no need for a training plan; my plan was to do what I could.

For the most part, I’m still in that realm. I’m not to the point where I can swim, do water running, elliptical trainer jogging, yoga, anything like that, because I still am only doing partial weight-bearing on my right side. More significantly, my fatigue level is pretty high. I tire out fast and either need a nap or just get cranky. Kind of like a toddler, but with more vocabulary and ability to rationalize crabby behavior.

But what I CAN do, and what we started last night, was to hatch a comeback plan. I am working on my race schedule for next season, which will include some of the races I did this year – so I can compare experiences and results – and some new challenges. For one, since the Musselman folks were kind enough to roll my Double Mussel registration to 2011, my goal is to complete the Mini Mussel on Saturday and then the full Musselman on Sunday, including the run. I’d been planning for the Aquabike this season, as my run ability wouldn’t have carried me 13.1 miles. But my goal is to have that ability by next July and to finish strong. I’m also looking at a couple other events – maybe the Skaneatles I’m All That race weekend and some other half-iron distance race that fits well on the calendar.

The view from the front porch. If you have to be stuck somewhere, this isn't a bad option.

So once I get my race goals intact, my job is to get my body intact. I’ve been tracking my Physical Therapy, Wheeling, and Upper Body Band “workouts” in Training Peaks, just like I did my regular workouts, so we’ll be on track to advance into more challenging activities when I’m ready. And healing is happening. It’s amazing to find strength where a few days ago I found pain. I am so thankful.

At the beginning of this post – which really is my longest yet – I mentioned stretches of dullness. Those do exist, mostly induced by fatigue that is neither subtle enough to ignore, nor intense enough to bring on sleep. I surf the web, chat on Facebook, read, watch movies or TV episodes, or nap. But I really can’t complain. I have a nice place to be, a nice porch to sit on and feel the breeze, and enough incoming ideas to keep my mind as active as it’s able to be. This has been an amazing month, and I truly can’t wait for the next one.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catching Up With Myself

  1. Ruth H says:

    It’s great to read of your progress and the reality of the ebb and flow of energy that you are embracing.
    Lofty goals–but that’s what goals are supposed to be, right?

Leave a Reply

