Reassification

Mr. Austad, my high school biology teacher, was the person who introduced me to the term “deassification.” He talked mostly about middle-age deassification, which is related to Furniture Disease, where one’s chest falls into one’s drawers. At that point, he was probably in his fifties, and he had resigned himself to having a flat ass.

Until I started riding bikes and running consistently, my rear was pretty flat, too, although I’m not really middle-aged now, and I certainly wasn’t then. Even with riding, running, swimming, and lifting, my ass was never very big. But it was strong, and I was so proud of it, because I feel like I earned it! Unfortunately, muscle tone in my glutes is one thing that has definitely diminished over the past 5 weeks. I once again have a flat ass.

Starting today, though, that will change! I had another very exciting Physical Therapy appointment, and I say that without an ounce of sarcasm. I love making progress week to week, feeling my body get stronger. Today I got to progress my weight-bearing exercises and start to use ankle weights for some of my leg exercises. Best of all, my pelvis is finally strong enough to start working my glutes against gravity. So thankfully, this week I get a new, better set of exercises to replace the isometric (static) muscle holds that have been very effective but a bit booooooorrrring. Geoff, my physical therapist who is featured in lots of these pics, says that these isometric exercises build muscle but wreck brain cells with their, um, utter lack of motion and endless counts of 1-5. This could explain why I’ve suddenly become addicted to The Hills – the MTV “reality drama” that I’m streaming on Netflix. I don’t know…I’m fascinated. More on that some other day.

So without further ado, Day 1 of Reassification, Weight Bearing & Gait Training, in pictures:

Reassifying to the Side

Reassifying on the Back

We took a break for a little line dance.

1 O'Clock! Note the lack of walker. 🙂

2 O'Clock!

3 O'Clock Rock!

Learning to keep my right leg straight as I step with my left. THIS made some muscles wake up from a month-long hibernation.

Taking my soon-to-be-not-as-flat ass home.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reassification

  1. Sandy says:

    We are so proud of you! You are making so much progress and following the doctors’ guidance in the process. Your folks are really looking forward to their visit with you and Michael! It’s been hard for your mother not to visit before this, but she knows that you are doing well. Keep up the fine work. God bless.

  2. Charmaine Courts says:

    Solveig, you have to keep writing… I start my day by reading your blog…..You have convinced me to keep doing my lunges.. and squats with this one.
    Have a good time with your parents.
    Best
    Charmaine

  3. Sarah Thompson says:

    How could I have forgotten about that Mr. Austad story–hilarious!!

    Congrats on your deassification process!

Leave a Reply

