Back in the Gym!

This afternoon I made my first visit to the gym since my accident. It was so great! I’m generally not a multiple exclamation point gal – my little grammar demons kick in – but to hell with it. It was GREAT!!!!!!!!

After a nice walk in from the parking lot, which in my current state really constitutes a workout in itself, Michael and I checked in and found the elevator. (I didn’t even know they had one!) I’m practicing keeping my right leg straight as I step with my left. It feels unnatural at first, but that’s just because I’ve been so used to protecting my right leg by bending my knee. Which could be one reason my right knee is a bit swollen and painful right now. I just haven’t been using it much.

Oh, yeah. 63 rpm.

But I got to use it today! I found the rehab recumbent in the fitness room, with the help of a trainer, and got it moving. Resistance level 1, nice and easy. I started at a cadence of about 25 and power of 10 Watts. Made me giggle! (For non-cyclists, my “endurance” power is between 80 and 100 Watts, with “tempo” power between 100 and 120 Watts. For cyclists, yes, this is low, but so is my body weight…it’s all about the power to weight ratio! That being said, I am definitely looking to raise my bike power in coming seasons. I digress.)

Started spinning, and before I knew it I’d reached a cadence of 50, then 60, topping out at about 63 rpm! No appreciable pain, and the knees started to loosen up eventually. I decided I’d quit while I was ahead at 12 minutes – my PT had prescribed 7 minutes, but he’ll never know since I’m not publishing this online. Wait…

Super, super motivating.

I'm hea to pahmp. You ahp.

Then we made our way over to the free weight section of the gym, and I found a weight bench to occupy. It was the lowest, narrowest, and least padded thing I’ve sat on yet, and it felt ok! It felt great to lift with actual weights again; tubing is much better than nothing, but I like weights. I like that my upper body has stayed pretty strong through all of this, what with wheeling, walker-walking, and sporadic upper-body strength exercises with therabands and tubes. I felt like a bit of a dork having Michael take photos, but I was psyched to be there, and I have a blog to illustrate! 🙂

I’m really, really excited to be back at the gym, and I’m also really glad I waited until this week. I’m walking so much more comfortably than last week. At that point, I would’ve been cooked just getting myself to the fitness room. Anyhow, this was a big step and a fantastic way to start the week! (!!!!!!)

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in the Gym!

  1. Ruth H says:

    YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is definitely a multi-exclamation point day. What joy to feel strength increasing week to week.

  2. Charmaine Courts says:

    We take so much for granted when we are able… Reading about your rehab has made me appreciate every workout I have had in the last couple of weeks.
    Your positive energy is contagious… so happy to hear how well you are doing.

Leave a Reply

