Shades of Normal

I’ve been slightly less consistent about blogging every day lately, and I think that’s because I’ve been feeling more normal. In contrast with a few weeks ago – when my whole life was dedicated to coping with limited movement, drug-induced mental fogginess, and pain – I am starting to feel more like myself. I don’t have to be so nervous about moving wrong, as my flexibility and strength have increased dramatically, along with my capacity to bear partial weight on my right side. It’s still a chore to move around, but mostly because I still have to navigate with my walker. It’s no longer very painful, and since I can balance on my right foot, I feel much more stable.

So without further ado, a little list of things that I’ve done in the past few days that are so normal that I forgot to mention them at first:

  • Slept in BED, rather than in my Lazy Boy. So comfortable, although I still feel better propped up slightly with my wedge pillow. The dogs think this stinks, as now they have to find somewhere else to sleep at night.

    Rosie & Tess demonstrate how the bed SHOULD be used. Humans, schmoomans.

  • Shiny & clean. Aren't they purdy?

    Did dishes! This is actually one of my favorite chores, even though I seldom keep up with it even when I’m fully functioning. I’ll do dishes before pretty much any other household job, but I’ll ride my bike before doing household jobs… I can’t manage the dishwasher at this point, but I can stand at the sink and wash stuff. So satisfying.

  • Rolled onto my stomach! Rolling hasn’t been this newsworthy since I was 6 months old.
  • The commode no longer has to make the commute across the bathroom.

    Left the commode-chair in the shower. I no longer need it in order to elevate my throne, as it were, and it’s so refreshing not to have to worry about, um, anything escaping through the 8″ gap between commode-chair and toilet. Yeek.

  • Had good, solid energy for all of Monday and Tuesday. That’s two – count ’em – two good days back to back, AFTER a weekend spent with Mom & Dad and a visit to the Train-This party on Sunday. Best, I only had a slight valley in terms of energy on Wednesday, rather than a freefall.

This afternoon I’ll visit Dr. Wong for more x-rays, and I’ll get the next verdict in terms of weight-bearing. Will they clear me for 100%? It’s been less than 6 weeks… Regardless, I’ll discuss the option of crutches with them. I know that walkers have a lot of benefits – four points of contact for more stability, a literal fortress around your body, an aura of injured-ness that makes people give you space and sympathy – but they are bleeping bulky, and I’m sick of not being able to get into my pantry, negotiate stairs, or get through my kitchen without getting the blasted front wheel stuck underneath a cupboard. I might lobby for the option of crutches; whether I use them in public or not, at least they might make life at home easier.

Anyhoo, after getting the weight bearing verdict today, I’ll visit Geoff, my intrepid PT tomorrow morning I’ll get a new set of exercises, another walking lesson, and perhaps crutch setup. And who knows what else? An upright bike? Dare I wish…an unsupported step? Probably not yet. Oooooh, the suspense is killing me!  Watch this space for the exciting next episode…

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shades of Normal

  1. Ruth H says:

    Normal–what a great place to be returning to —you are reminding me to be thankful for a lot of “normal” things in my life, so thank you for your insights and for sharing your “everyday joy”–and may each day become more “normal”.

  2. Charmaine Courts says:

    I am so glad you are writing this blog… we all need the normal reminders… and keep in mind that normal has a wide range….

  3. Connie B says:

    Your thoughts on washing dishes reminded me of this quote:

    If I’m incapable of washing dishes joyfully, if I want to finish them quickly so I can go and have dessert, I will be equally incapable of enjoying my dessert. With the fork in my hand, I will be thinking about what to do next, and the texture and flavor of the dessert, together with the pleasure of eating it, will be lost…Thich Nhat Hanh

Leave a Reply

