Out With The Old

This morning I said goodbye to a trusted friend. (Cue sappy violin music.) He’s rolled with me for the last 5 weeks, held my water bottles, carried my snacks, and supported me over both rocky and smooth terrain. But now he’s just more than I need. I’m moving on! (Cue trumpets or something.)

The walker finally gets to rest its weary wheels, and I get to quit hauling it around.

Yep, my now-discarded friend is my WALKER!!!!!

After my x-rays came back looking good yesterday, Dr. Wong approved me for “weight bearing as tolerated,” meaning that I can basically do whatever doesn’t make my pelvis hurt. At this point, I can put about 50% weight on my leg – that is, stand with even weight on my two legs – but more than that hurts. She prescribed me a pair of crutches, wrote some notes to my Physical Therapist, and sent me on my way. I was still unsteady on the crutches so stuck with the walker for one more night. Really, I thought I’d use the crutches around the house but go to the walker if I had to go out.

Not so much! I walker-walked into PT this morning, and upon telling PT Geoff that I’m ok for weight bearing as tolerated, he said the walker was history. Over the next hour and a half, he taught me how to crutch-walk with good form, which basically boils down to walking normally but absorbing some weight with hands rather than injured leg. But it takes practice! Amazing how the body can forget how to walk…

I also learned that although my leg muscles don’t look that bad – I’ve been able to maintain reasonable tone through the endless sessions of isometric holds and such – they’re definitely not what they were 6 weeks ago! I went up 2 steps – that’s two (2) steps – and had to give my left quad a lot of encouragement to lift my whole bod. I’m not used to steps being hard. But at least we’re stepping. Also rode the recumbent bike for 10 minutes, and reached a cadence of…..(drumroll)….76 rpm! Holy crow! It didn’t hurt!

Crutch Lessons

Last, Geoff showed me how to progress my reassification exercises and added squats to the list. Not my fave, mostly because I have trouble with form. But no time like the present to get it right; squats are better than isometrics, I’ll tell you that for free. I’m also cleared for water walking, water running, and/or swimming, as long as I can get myself in the pool and I’m not making my bones hurt. Muscle hurt is ok; bone hurt is not.

On the way home, we stopped at a home where Michael is helping with a landscape project, which happened to be located on a quiet cul-de-sac. He went to work, and I went for a WALK. I can move so much faster with crutches and really get close to a normal stride, albeit with my right side supported. Didn’t work up a sweat or anything, but got moving enough to take some DEEP BREATHS. Aaah.

Time to get my normal purse off the shelf, (take the opportunity to wash it), and start getting around a little more normally. I can’t wait! Except that I can wait, because I’m kind of worn out. This was a big day! But after an evening of low-brain-demand movies and a night of sleep, I will be ready to go.

Yeah!

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out With The Old

  1. Ruth H says:

    HALLELUJAH!!!!! This sounds like a big step towards “normal”. Rest and revel in new strength and steps toward independence. We have been thinking about you these past two days, wondering what the Doc and PT would say; we are glad to hear of your progress, so rest and enjoy some “mind-numbing” , then surge into tomorrow.

  2. Kelly says:

    Awesome progress!! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

