I’m A Swimmin Wimmin

On this episode of As The Pelvis Turns, things look up! Finally and thankfully, after another solid night of sleep, I woke up with some energy. I did my morning PT and actually did work until just after lunch. That’s the kind of work that they pay me for, not the kind that makes the house look better. 🙂

And then the highlight of the day: I got to go swimming! As with most things I’ve done in the past month and a half, the logistics are at least half the battle, but the folks at the Canandaigua YMCA were really accommodating. The lifeguard fetched me a swim belt and lowered me into the shallow part of the pool on the hydraulic chair. I hopped my way over to shoulder-deep water, where my PT said I might be able to practice walking without too much weight on my right side. He was right…but I was so buoyant that I couldn’t put enough weight on my feet to move forward!

So I high-tailed it to the deep end to try water running – or more accurately, water running movements. This felt GREAT, except for one point when I was trying to turn around at the end of the pool. I twisted and found out – in no uncertain terms – that my right leg does not rotate externally right now. Actually went for 15 minutes and felt like going longer…but I’m trying not to be completely hard-headed. I don’t need to crash like I have the last couple of days. I think water running will become one of my favorite workouts, both during recovery and after.

Then I decided to try swimming. I tried a kickboard and found out that my hips are not strong enough to kick right now. I kind of wiggled my legs, but I didn’t go forward. At all. In fact, I kept drifting toward the wall. Ha! So I asked the lifeguard to fetch a leg buoy for me, and I pulled about 5 laps – short ones, from the shallow end to the rope across the deep end. At the end of 1 length, I stopped and realized that I hadn’t breathed that deeply since the day of my accident. What an incredible feeling, a relief to find that sensation again. It was also a relief to feel my upper body fall back into swimming. It didn’t forget; the motions felt completely natural.

Anyhow, after 15 minutes of swimming or so, I was feeling just a little tired – not sleepy tired, just that sensation that fatigue will set in. So we got out; I actually managed the ladder, which was exciting.

So…I’m back in the pool! Yeah! Can’t wait for more.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m A Swimmin Wimmin

  1. Ruth H says:

    I’m happy for you and grateful that the “Y” recognizes varying levels of “able-ness.” This marks another notch toward normal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

