On My Own Two Feet

🙂

I’ve been a little bit delinquent with the blog over the past few days. Between PT and working in the mornings, and then hair, dentist, doctor, and PT appointments in the afternoons, I’ve been keeping pretty busy. And the fact that I can be up and around more means that I’m spending time in the kitchen and playing Stick with the dog a bit more. So good stuff, just not conducive to daily blog posting.

Clock Steps, so named because you step to the 1, 2, and 3 o'clock positions. 30 Times. On each side. 🙂

I had my weekly PT appointment yesterday afternoon, the one at which I was supposed to LOSE the crutches. I had a good feeling about it going in, as on Thursday morning during my home PT slog session, I was doing my right-foot clock-steps with no pain. I decided to try a couple of steps crutch-free to see what would happen. I got a couple little, halting steps with no significant pain but enough niggles that I decided I’d keep the crutch until seeing my doc.

Saw the doc that afternoon, and she said breezily, “Oh, well if you’re only using one crutch, you’re full weight bearing. You’re really just using it for balance.” Huh? I sure FELT like I was putting weight on it… I kept using it that night when we went to Chasing Legends, a really well-done documentary movie about the 2009 Tour de France, and we got home late. I was getting ready for bed and realized I needed a shirt from across the room, and I just started walking there. Didn’t even realize I wasn’t using crutches! But I was still getting a little pain, and it was hard to tell if it was from muscle or bone, so I stayed with the crutch until PT.

And then it was GONE. It felt so natural…like walking. 🙂 At first, my gait was pretty stiff, since, as Geoff the PT tactfully put it, I hadn’t “integrated torso rotation yet.” Meaning I was walking like Frankenstein. Ha! But as I practiced and started to trust that my leg would hold me, I got smoother.

So I got home, walked in the house, went into the kitchen to check out dinner options…and I kind of felt like I’d just woken up after a two-month nap. Not that I feel back to normal yet; I can’t drive, ride a bike, work at the office, run, or lift anything significant. But I can get around. I don’t have to hold a strategy session with myself to figure out how to make a salad or get a blanket from across the room. Heck, if I wanted to, I could walk down to the mailbox all by myself. What. A. Relief!

Range of motion is coming back. T minus not too long till yoga class!

I’m hoping that the transition from crutches to no-crutches is less rocky than the transition from walker to crutches, as I don’t really feel like tossing another week into the snooze tank. But I’ll just take it as it comes, and if I need to nap, I will. However, we have just two weekends left to use up our Redwings Diamond Debit cards (prepaid passes to AAA baseball games), and it’s probably time to pay Ma Nash a visit. Plus, this weekend promises to be sunny and warm – even HOT – and I will take it! I’ve literally slept through half of summer, and I want to soak up a little heat before the chilly weather comes again. If I can’t bike and run outside – which I can’t – I can WALK. Yep, I can walk. 🙂

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Own Two Feet

  1. Amelia Payne says:

    This post made me soooo happy! I remember after I had a bike crash in 2007, the first day I was able to wash my hair by myself, and keep my arms above my head. I felt exactly like you just said… normal. not tactics on how to do this, that, or the other.

    sigh! LOVE IT!

    ~AMO 🙂

  2. Ruth And Duane says:

    WE are so glad to read your blog. We have had a great time, with more sunshine than anyone could have predicted.Keep walking and maybe even dancing soon!

Leave a Reply

