Soaking It Up

The past couple of days have been pretty sweet. I’ve had good energy – enough to wake up before breakfast, get my PT in, do several focused hours of work, chip away at housework, play stick with Tess, and even walk down to the mailbox. We also visited the Y both days, to swim and water run yesterday, and to lift weights today. I tried the upright non-Airdyne exercise bike, too, for 20 whole minutes. Fired up the Garmin for the first time since the crash for this occasion. Kind of nice to have it convulsively vibrate back to life.

So really, things are smoothing out; my right leg is slowly getting stronger, and my nagging knee pain is gradually resolving. I’m regaining rotation in my hip, enough to do a sun salutation pretty well, if really slowly. I kind of feel like I’m coming around.

It hit me when I was putting away laundry that fall is coming soon. I was a little bit sad, as I’ve literally slept through a big chunk of this summer, and I certainly haven’t been able to play outside like I usually do. I love temperatures that seem to welcome human existence, that don’t force us to pile on layers or get inside. Yeah, I like fall and spring and even winter, but I have to consciously make friends with them. I don’t have to try to like summer heat. So I decided to soak up every ounce of this week’s warmth. Here’s how:

I moved my office to the front porch.

I read a book on the library lawn.

I threw this stick for Tess.

Um, but not this one.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

