Something Old, Something New

This was a pretty average day, on the surface, but with bits of newness within the routine. Hence the title, which in this case has nothing to do with weddings.

Something Old: Michael made a breakfast smoothie and left me some in the blender.

Something New: It was extra awesome this morning. Lots of yogurt and blueberries and who knows what else. Yum.

Something Old: I walked across the kitchen.

Something New: I pivoted on my right foot and my leg neither snapped off nor felt like it would. Now this, THIS, is progress.

Something Old: Another PT appointment.

Something New: Got to try the elliptical machine for the first time! No hip, pelvis, or knee pain, but my lungs reminded me that we haven’t done this in quite a while. But it felt so natural; can’t wait to try some more at the gym tomorrow. We also increased my dumbbell weights on my clock steps (proto-lunges), calf raises, and a few more exercises. Last but not least, I got to try leg presses on the Cybex machine, which went fine. Before long I’ll be able to do a regular lower-body strength workout at the gym!

Something Old: Remembered to take my water bottle and a snack to PT.

Something New: Forgot the camera, so no pics this week.

Something Old: Went swimming at the Y on the way back from PT.

Something New: Swam 7 whole laps straight. I’ve been increasing my longest swim set by 1 lap each time I go to the pool, and this time I did a set of 6 laps and the set of 7 laps, with a bunch of kicking (with a kickboard) and pulling (with a leg buoy) in between. Felt fan-tas-tic.

Something Old: The ritual of Foot On Brake – Start Ignition – Lights On – Seatbelt On – Car In Gear – Look Around.

Something New: I got to DO it!!!!! I drove home from Canandaigua this evening, and it was totally easy. Like falling off a log. I feel like I could perform the above ritual in my sleep…probably because I do most mornings. 🙂 (Kidding, Mom & Dad! I usually have either one eye open or both eyes cracked.)

Something Old: Leftover chili & tomatillo crema.

Something New: Pan-fried tofu & watermelon alongside the above items, making dinner appear in 15 minutes flat.

Something Old: Blogging while listening to Michael practice guitar.

Something New: Resisting the urge to end with something sentimental! Because each day really does hold new stuff if you look for it. Drat. Resistance was futile…

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Food, Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something Old, Something New

  1. Ruth H says:

    Love these blogs! old, new. or otherwise 🙂

Leave a Reply

