Momentum

When I talk to people about breaking my pelvis, they usually wince and say, “Wow, that must have been so painful!” It’s true; it was really painful. But after a couple of weeks, the acute pain wore off, and I could get by without medication. I just used the “If it hurts, don’t do it” method, and did pretty well. I usually wasn’t in much pain; I just couldn’t move very much. 🙂

I definitely didn't take this while the car was moving. Nope, way too dangerous. Not me.

As I’ve progressed through this recovery, I get little bits of flexibility and strength back each day. Usually I do something without thinking about it, and then realize that I hadn’t been able to do that before. Like last night, I was sitting at my computer, and my feet were cold (which means at least one thing is normal). So I pulled my legs up into a cross-legged position so I could stick my feet under my thighs for warmth…and didn’t even realize that I was FINALLY sitting cross-legged. In the same way, I find myself walking around the house at my “get stuff done” clip, getting out of the car one leg at a time, and going down stairs at a normal speed. I still have my limits: I’m slow going UP stairs, can’t sleep too long on my right side, can’t carry a 30 lb CSA box (more than 5 feet – don’t tell doc). But things are coming back. Pretty cool.

I did wrestle this box into the car, but I made Michael wrestle it out. It was just a bit too heavy.

So this week I’ve not only gotten to take a couple of solo driving trips, but I’ve also had enough energy to do 3+ hours of work – the kind they pay me for – every single day. Ok, it’s still Thursday, but I don’t feel a crash coming on. I’ve been able to get up, do PT, have solid work time, do errands or housework, have a workout, make decent meals, and live to do it again the next day. It’s kind of like forgetting what it’s like to be pain-free; I forget what it’s like to have more-normal energy.

Like a strawberry creme-filled cupcake with a beard.

Or maybe a cannoli?

This afternoon, after my work-from-home session and before an excellent workout on the elliptical machine, Michael and I paid a visit to a really good otolaryngologist. An Ear-Nose-Throat doctor. Michael’s ears have taken in a lot of tractor noise and loud guitars over the years, and he’s developed a hiss in his ears. He also can’t hear me say “S’s” and accuses me of lithping, a transgression for which I am now completely vindicated. He apparently has slight hearing loss, nothing to be particularly concerned about but something to try to mitigate. So he got fitted for custom silicone earplugs that will allow him to hear a full range of sound – like rock music – but at lower volume. This brings me to the highlight of my day: making the molds for his earplugs. This involved shooting pink foam into both his ear canals and waiting for it to set up. Seriously, it was like filling a cupcake. You just don’t get photo ops like this every day. 🙂

This weekend promises to be a fun one. I get to freeze my ass off volunteer at the Finger Lakes Tri in Canandaigua on Sunday morning. This was to have been the last race of my season this year, but the organizer was fabulous about letting me transfer my registration to next season. However, since working race registration is not anything like actually racing grueling, Coach Mary says I get to carbo-load with my teammates who are racing on Sunday. Yeah! IHOP here we come!

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Momentum

  1. Ruth H says:

    OH, these photos are priceless! 🙂 as are your steps toward normalcy.

  2. Connie Burns says:

    Thatz thzo zthilly! You don’t zhlurr your wordzth at all!!

Leave a Reply

