The Week In Numbers

8 – Days since my last post, long enough for WordPress.com to make me give my password again. 😦

18.5 – Hours spent working from the actual physical office last week.

All cleaned up & ready to commute.

10 – Hours spent commuting to and from actual physical office last week. Combined with the hours spent working, this is the reason for the hours NOT spent blogging.

1800 – Approximate number of emails in my work inbox, all but 90 of which are now shuffled off either into a file or into oblivion.

7 – Average number of hours of sleep I got last week, which was the only reason I survived. I was ex.haus.ted.

56 – Number of seconds it took to swim 50 yards (1 lap) last Thursday. I timed ten 50’s last Monday and Thursday; on Monday, I started at 1:03 and eventually hit :59, then on Thursday I hit :56-:58 for all of them. Feels fantastic to be able to have workouts that feel challenging again. Looking forward to making progress on my swim stroke this winter.

4 – Number of objects cleaned with our Bissell hot water vacuum in the past two weekends. This includes 2 cars and 2 sides of a mattress. This is truly a record.

12 – Tomatoes used making the sauce for yesterday’s veggie lasagna. I sliced zucchini & eggplant thin and used them in place of the pasta sheets, which was both tasty and core-diet-friendly. Which was counteracted by the butterscotch brownie sundaes we made after dinner at Ma Nash’s. 🙂

85 – Approximate number of degrees in the yoga studio, where I went to my first Power Vinyasa Yoga session this Saturday. Felt fabulous, sweaty, and a lot harder than I expected. Yes, we’re still talking about yoga. Got more flexibility out of my hip than anytime since the accident, which was awesome. Was also really sore afterwards! Need to remember pants next time so my poor little legs don’t tighten up!

Freshly fried tostadas with marinated seitan, sriracha vegenaise, salsa & a bunch of other great stuff. Best appetizer I've had in a long time.

2 – Number of absolutely delicious Southwest-ish seitan tostadas in our appetizer at the Owl House on Saturday night. Rockin’ food & nice people. We will definitely be back!

Jerk-spiced tempeh, sweet potato puree, braised leeks & fennel, and fresh pickled cucumbers. Yeah.

20 – Number of pounds of the bag of dog food I picked up from the store on my way home. As I was carrying the bag to the checkout – in my arms, like an unusually-still and crumply toddler – I thought about the fact that 2 months ago, I was wheeling around the same store, getting enough activity for an entire day and musing over the magic dinosaur egg oatmeal that you don’t see unless you’re at kids’ eye level. Now, I can just run an errand, like a regular person. I can walk as fast as a regular person, bend down to pick things up, and pretty much operate normally. This healing process is truly amazing.

4.75 – Number of hours I worked today. This week, I’m aiming for 4-5 hours per day, so all bets are off regarding whether I’ll be blogging much. But I’d like to. I like this. And once I get completely healed, I’ll probably keep at it, although I’ll either have to change the blog’s title or make a habit of breaking stuff. Or (shudder) learn to mend clothing and write a literal mend-this blog. It would probably be pretty entertaining, as sewing tends to saturate my capacity for patience and then produce garments that fall apart…

5 – Number of hours I spent thinking my feet really stunk last Friday. I’d worn my gym shoes to work so I could go straight to my morning PT appointment, and I could barely stand myself. After an odoriferous PT session, I ditched my shoes in favor of sandals. Then today – 3 days later – I put the shoes back on and noticed the smell again. I don’t know which is dopier: that I didn’t look at the soles of the shoes until today, or that I can’t discern between the smells of stinky feet and a gigantic dog sh*t. I am so, so classy.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Food, Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Week In Numbers

  1. Ruth H says:

    ” dog’s number 2 causes oops for number 1 daughter” —pretty humbling, but after all you have been through, it seems good to have an ordinary oops to think about.

Leave a Reply

