The Other Side

So it’s really fall. As I lay in bed this morning I watched the leaves falling in the from the woods next to our house. It’s a second-growth forest, so the tree trunks are straight and thin, the leaves just yellow with a bit of brown; it seemed like they could’ve held on longer. The air was cool, both in the house and outside. It’s not cold enough for the furnace yet, but it’s cold enough for me to layer up, wear a stocking cap around the house, and complain about my cold feet and cheeks when I haven’t been moving around.

Fully bundled.

Case in point: This afternoon I was due for an hour-long ride on the indoor trainer. I was looking forward to it, as I almost never have a bad time on my bike. I like spinning the legs, letting my mind spin out at the same time. I like working up a good sweat, even when it’s chilly in the house – just 59 degrees before the ride. So I knew that a good ride was on tap; Michael and I had a Netflix to watch, and Michael was planning to do his 30 minute recovery spin with me.

I just had to get changed. Which entailed taking off the clothes I had on, putting on skimpier clothes, and then getting my sorry rear on the bike to get warmed up. This took a good half hour and a space heater. I may need to HTFU. 🙂

Down to the Thermal Shirt

I began my ride in cycling shorts, a sports bra, a jersey, a waffle knit long underwear shirt, a hoodie, and a knit hat.  Within 15 minutes I was down to the sports bra, as I knew I would be, and having as great a time as I knew I would. Just had to break through the initial discomfort…to find a much greater comfort waiting for me.

And down to the jersey.

Yesterday morning I went to yoga class at Breathe, and at one point Coach (and yoga instructor) Mary talked about getting comfortable in discomfort. Taking a pose that’s starting to get difficult, and digging into it. Finding – or creating – space that wasn’t there before. I won’t belabor any allegories to Life In General. (Ever since my Grinnell first-year tutorial on Moby Dick, I’ve not been much for allegories; they get so tedious and contrived, when the truth they point up seems much simpler.) Suffice it to say that I am finding good things when I get through some discomfort. I hope that I’ll remember this when I’m actually racing – not just spectating – at the next event that requires swimming in 60 degree water… Or, really, when it actually gets cold. It’s only, barely, October. 🙂

Aaaah.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Other Side

  1. Ruth H says:

    It sure is nice to know that you are getting back to “normal”—-conquering “COLD” is a battle we both face .:)

Leave a Reply

