Thanksgiving Highlight Reel

Just a few thoughts and photos from the excellent four-day weekend we just had.

Before. We didn't take an after, but you can imagine.

  • Thanksgiving Day was really nice. Michael and I went to the gym for their Turkey Jam morning hours. It was aptly named, as it was jammed, but I got in a nice PT session and then a water run. And then off to Ma Nash’s to cook. We kept it really low-key. Cooked all afternoon, but at a relaxed pace. We roasted Brussels sprouts along with some tasty Stuttgarter onions from our lovely fruit CSA farm. (I know onions aren’t fruit…but they are a bonus of being in this particular CSA!) I made tofu provencale, which was basically marinated & grilled tofu simmered with this sassy tomato-olive-caper-leek-garlic-white wine sauce. So much better than Tofurkey. (Michael and I tried one of those many years ago; such a letdown when you’re used to home-cooked vegan food!)
  • Oh yeah, and for dessert, we made a kickin apple crisp. We used a whole bag of Northern Spy apples – from our G&S Orchards fruit CSA – and a perfectly sweet & buttery crisp topping.

    Mice!

  • Ma Nash had a craft activity for us as well! We made this cute and slightly freaky army of chocolate mice – after I spent 20 minutes getting the powdered sugar icing / glue to the right consistency to keep the poor mice’s faces from drizzling off. I didn’t eat any mice on Thanksgiving – actually held off until tonight, now that the apple crisp is finally gone – and realized that I am NOT accustomed to candy as sweet as chocolate covered cherries anymore. Holy sugar buzz, Batman.
  • On Black Friday, which the media & retail community seem relentlessly intent on making into a holiday as noteworthy as Thanksgiving, we spent the morning at home. I got some bills paid, and we did our bike trainer workout. Then we did the consumer thing and went shopping for running shoes! These are my birthday present from my Grandma and are a fantastic shade of blue. They were actually the limited-edition European version of this particular shoe, so even though I’ll never be a European model, I can at least wear some on my feet. 🙂

    What a smashing blue color! Love it!

  • I should give a pelvis update, too. This was an excellent training week for the hip. By the end of the previous week, I’d rested the hip enough to get it comfortable again, but I’d lost a lot of strength. When I saw Geoff the PT that Friday, he instructed me to keep recovering gradually and to stay OUT of any tempting Turkey Trots. No more overreaching load-bearing efforts for a while. So I followed his instructions, with regular PT sessions plus swim / bike / walk / water run / yoga sessions from Coach Mary, and whaddya know? It’s healing up! I managed a really hard, fast (in my context) swim on Saturday, and I just got home from having my best, fastest, most comfortable walk yet at the gym. I don’t think I’ll ever stop being amazed at the body’s (and mind’s) capacity to heal.
  • Finally finished unpacking from IronGirl Tempe.
  • Spent time with Michael, including a dinner at the Owl House and some live music.
  • Made Pumpkin Seitan Chili, which was fantastic. That’s good, because there’s enough for the whole week, I think.

    Why bother with cat toys when there is packing paper to be had?

  • Got to talk to Mom & Grandma.
  • Got to chill out a bit. Really a much-needed break.

Thanks for reading. Hopefully I can get in the habit of blogging a bit more during the evenings and farting around on the web a bit less. I like this – and I plan to keep it up even after my pelvis is totally healed. I’ll need a new blog title, though…

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Food, Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

