Resolutions That Won’t Drive Me Batty

Some years I make resolutions at New Year’s, and some years I don’t. I’ve resolved to floss a lot, which indicates how successful those resolutions were. But this year, having proved to myself that I CAN establish habits that make my life better (like actually scooping the cat boxes every day), I’m going to give it a go. And most important, I’m going to lay out HOW I’m going to get these things done. Because otherwise these will just be more “should’s” to beat myself over the head with, and I do not need that. So here goes – maybe I’ll give a little resolution update every few weeks or months, because I just know you’ll be on the edges of your respective seats.

Resolution #1: Sleep – I am nicer, calmer, and smarter when I get enough sleep. I am a better partner, daughter, athlete, employee, friend, and dog mom when I get enough sleep. For me, 7 hours on weeknights is good. 8 would be nice, but we need to start with something achievable. That means my butt needs to be parked in bed by 9pm for 4:30am wakeups, and at 9:30pm for 5am wakeups. That will give me half an hour to read or whatever before snoozing. This means I will need to do a bit less farting around on the web in the evenings and do more meal prep on weekends. See following resolutions.

Resolution #2: Breathe – I mentioned in my last post how, through getting more involved with yoga, I’ve learned to breathe more, be present, let now be enough. Again, this helps me be nicer, calmer, a better partner and friend, etc. How to get this done? Just breathe. πŸ™‚ It’s always there, always possible.

Resolution #3: Weekly training goals – I am psyched to engage in my training process this season, and setting weekly goals will be a great way both to get my ideas clear and communicate with my coach.

Resolution #4: Weekend meal prep – This is a habit I’ve been working on and will actively DO as soon as I’m done typing this morning. A couple weekend hours spent prepping some protein (like baked tofu, tempeh sausage, or soup), a veggie dip like hummus, and salad components makes weekday meal prep SO MUCH EASIER. Again, less meal prep during the week = more sleep and…

Resolution #4: More dog & cat time! We’re gone a lot. Our animals get stir-crazy, especially Tess, the cattle dog with nothing to herd. Even 10 minutes a day of dedicated fetch-playing will make a difference. We’ll be visiting Petco later today to pick out some toys…the durable, bouncy, nylon kind, rather than the eaten-in-one-day stuffed kind.

Resolution #5: Reusable shopping bags – Duh. Why is this hard? Because I’m not organized for it. But starting TODAY, when I buy a bunch from Wegman’s, I will get organized! Bags will go from car -> kitchen -> table by front door -> car -> store. The key is getting them back to my car.

OK. That’s way enough resolutions. I will be patient with myself, or not, but in any case I’ll give myself time to get these habits formed. That would be the breathing thing. πŸ™‚

Hope the new year started well for you all!

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

