Resolution Report

So Week 1 of 2011 is in the books! My last post was about New Years’ resolutions, so I thought I’d report on how they’re working. Some great, some ok, some will take some more work. Here goes:

Resolution #1: Sleep – My goal was 7 hours per night. Didn’t make it. I’ll tell you that for free. BUT – and it’s a big but – I did BETTER than I have for any workweek in recent memory. I got 6 or more hours each night, and voila! Happier! Less crabby! Not crying when my work pile got deeper! So tonight I’ll keep up the trend and hit the sack in about 20 minutes. Instead of the laundry. I’m pretty sure I have pants to wear tomorrow.

Resolution #2: Breathe – Also going well. This is not to say I am pleasant or happy all the time. That will never happen, and I no longer think it’s supposed to. But by being present I at least catch myself getting snippy at the dogs underfoot when I’m trying to do 5 more things simultaneously than I can. Generally feeling calmer and dealing with rotten things better. And nothing has really been too rotten.

Resolution #3: Weekly training goals – Totally succeeded in MAKING training goals, and partially succeeded in achieving them. My first goal last week was to arrive at my Thursday PT appointment ready to progress. But between Friday and Tuesday, I had 4 pretty tough bike trainer rides, plus a swim and some weight work. All was fine until the tempo ride on Tuesday morning. My hip told me it wasn’t ready. It hurt…but so far I’d been recovering well from these harder bike efforts…so I pushed it. I don’t regret pushing it. But by doing so I found my limit, which hurt. And kept hurting all week, so all of my workouts were modified to allow for recovery. NOT what I wanted. But as of today I feel pretty well back on track and determined to do everything I can to arrive at this Sunday’s bike test & swim form session ready to go. I really, really want to be able to ride my bike test without holding back. But I WILL listen to my body. No test is worth more downtime.

Resolution #4: Weekend meal prep – Oh, yeah. This takes time but is so worth it. Did this both Sundays so far with fabulous results. This Sunday I made Seitan Mole – Seitan stewed with onion, garlic, mole spices, tomatoes, peanut butter, and of course a little dark chocolate. Oh. Yeah. And for the Dip of the Week, kept with a Tex Mex theme and made black bean – tomato – chili spice dip. Excellent variation from hummus. And of course, chopped a veritable crapload of lettuce – but this makes lunch prep so easy! Which means I can blog in the evening instead of wander around the kitchen forgetting what the hell else I need to put into my lunch.

Resolution #4: More dog & cat time! – Needs work. Michael went to Petco looking for durable toys, and all they had were stuffed things that Tess just views as lunch. Have been taking a bit more dog time but not enough. This commuter lifestyle is just downright poopy for dogs. Will keep working at this.

(Apparently resolution #4 could also have been learning how to count…)

Resolution #5: Reusable shopping bags – We’ve only been shopping once since last weekend, but we DID purchase some more reusable bags and then returned them to my car, where they are patiently awaiting the next trip. Which will have to be soon, as the soymilk and banana supply is dwindling.

Weekend highlights included a Red, Red Wine class at the NY Wine & Culinary Institute with Ma Nash and Michael. This was Michael’s and my Christmas present to Ma, and it was a blast! I learned a ton and realized how little I know about wine. I think Wine 101 might be next on my list; the instructor recommended it to me when I told him that all of my tasting notes just said “Yum.” 🙂

And then we went out for crepes. Crepe chips & hummus, harvest salad w/ apple & a really nice lemon maple vinaigrette, and then a nutella banana crepe, which was exactly as awesome as I wanted it to be.

Week 2, and bedtime, here I come!

 

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Food, Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolution Report

  1. Angela Hanson says:

    I so enjoy reading your blog. I need to catch up on a couple of entries. You are so funny. Plus, you reminded me in this post that everyone needs to use the word crapload a whole lot more. I am pretty sure I just laughed out loud at that. When Arik and I went to our first wine tasting, I described one wine as being “grappier” than another … so I am totally with you on “yum”!

Leave a Reply

