Mending

I started this blog last summer after crashing my bike and crunching my pelvis, to give me an outlet and record the healing process. It was fantastic. I love writing, and  the connections made with friends and family helped pull me through the Recovery Suite days.

Most of you know by now that my life has changed significantly in the last month. Michael, my partner of 9 years, and I broke up. It was hard. It was my idea. I am truly sorry for the pain it caused. And that’s pretty much all I’m going to say about it on this blog. The internet is not the place to discuss things like this, but for me not to mention it and go on with reports about my hips, Achilles tendons, swim form, and race schedule would be strange. But for me to stop writing altogether would be rotten. I love the process too much.

So having got that out of the way, where, oh where, will this blog go? So many possibilities! For now, I’ll focus on my continuing, increasingly exciting rehab process, training and racing for 2011 (and beyond), and pretty much anything else I feel like! At some point I’ll probably rename the blog, and who knows – it could take on some other theme as well. But for now, it will continue being a chronicle of my healing process and life in general.

A few updates on the rehab:

  • After struggling with starting to run for months, my awesome PT found a run progression that worked for me. It was the easy one – it started with running .03 miles at a time, very slowly. If you’re counting, .03 miles is about as much time as it takes to make the treadmill speed up. I did increasingly long run / walk intervals 3 times a week, until I got up to running a quarter mile at a time, really slowly. Then I started over with the whole thing, running at a faster pace.
  • Just this week, I graduated to the intermediate plan! It starts at .07 mile intervals and works up to big, bad, whole 1 mile intervals. I can hardly wait!!! And I say that sincerely…
  • In a month, on May 1st, I’ll be doing the Wegman’s Family 5K as part of the Flower City Challenge race weekend. If I can stay on track with this run progression – which will require good stretching, massage, nutrition, and sleep in between workouts – I could potentially RUN more of the race than I walk! Full race sked for the season is developing, and I’ll post when it’s figured out!

Next Saturday I’ll also be doing a 5K – the Start! Heart Walk for heart disease and stroke research. I’ll be walking with a bunch of people from my work, and it should be a really good time. I’m dedicating my walk and fundraising to my Grandpa Dimick, whose quadruple bypass surgery extended his life by 15 years or so. His presence in my life was truly a gift, and hopefully the funds raised for heart disease and stroke research will help to make life longer and better for others. If you’d like to contribute, my fundraising webpage is http://heartwalk.kintera.org/rochesterny/solveighanson.

More updates soon! Glad to be back.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mending

  1. Ruth H says:

    It’s good to have you back! Back to running, back to writing, back to exploring!

Leave a Reply

