My Aching Ass

Well. Remember that little 28 minute bike ride I told you about? The one after which my hip hurt a little? So it wasn’t too bad on Monday, and I went to Coach Mary’s evening yoga class at Breathe. It was fabulous, as always. Hard, but fabulous. It was also the hottest yoga class I’ve ever experienced; it had to have been 95 degrees in there, and sweat was literally pouring off of me. My clothes and towel were completely drenched and perilously close to the line between gross and biohazardous.

But my hip felt great. It felt like NOTHING, no pain, possibly because there wasn’t enough fluid left in my body to relay nerve messages to my brain… So I did my best to rehydrate and went to bed. Swim on tap for the morning!

When I woke up at 4:32am, wrongly convinced that my alarm was broken and should’ve already rung, I felt hung over. Vague headache, sleepy eyes, foggy brain, just ugh. Perhaps not quite enough rehydration. So I came to slowly, drank more water, took my shot of espresso Hammer Gel, which is without a doubt my favorite training fuel and is right up there in my overall ranking for consumables. I would take a shot of espresso gel over quite a few baked goods, and that’s saying something.

Headed to the pool. After an 800 yard warmup, I was to do 4×400, descending each 100 (meaning stop every 2 laps, look at my time, and then try to do the next 2 laps faster). Warmup felt good from the waist up, but my hip was sore. I decided not to push it and used my pull buoy for the 400’s, so I could swim hard without putting too much stress on my hip. And then the strangest phenomenon happened. On the last two 100’s – the faster ones – my entire lower body just started shaking, like you do when holding an ab plank for a long time. Or like “sewing machine legs,” when your legs kind of turn to jello and don’t quite want to hold you up. WEIRD! Kept drinking HEED throughout the workout, which got me through, but my bod was definitely on edge.

And then, after a full day of sitting, my ass hurt. Worse than it had in months. This is hard for me to take. I hate the feeling of losing ground, having pushed too hard and then just having to WAIT for recovery. It made me cranky. Add to that the fact that Tuesdays seem to be excellent days for accumulating but not dispersing workload, and my cranky pants were on full display by the time 5pm rolled around.

I decided I’d try my gym workout – I was up for weight machines and a PT run progression – as sometimes in the past, resistance has actually made these aches better. But I went in knowing that I might not be able to do anything without feeling like I was doing more harm than good; I was fully prepared just to pack it in and go home.

And then, it all worked! I Triggerpoint massaged my aching ass, did a bunch of yoga to warm up, and then tried the leg press. Whaddya know? Not only didn’t it hurt, but it felt like this fantastic release to work all the way through the range of motion. Went down the line of leg machines with weights a tad lighter than normal. But it felt like it cleaned my muscles out. I was SO psyched.

Being pain-free at that point, I decided to try the treadmill. If all I could do was walk, that would be ok. But after a walk warmup, I felt ok and tried a slow jog. Went through my 1/8 mile intervals and gradually worked up to the pace I was supposed to be targeting. Holy crow. I didn’t even want to stop on my last one. Amazing.

Simply amazing.

 

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Aching Ass

  1. Ruth H says:

    WOW! talk about a roller coaster of pain and release! I never knew that muscles would respond that way — hope you sleep well tonight so those crabby pants can stay in the laundry pile.

  2. Sarah says:

    you continue to amaze me – I never would have gotten past the 4:30 alarm let alone to the 2nd workout of the day!

Leave a Reply

