Easter

The Easter Basket Salad I made for this week's salad contest at work. I didn't win anything, but I had a pretty nice time making my nest. šŸ™‚

Easter started earlier this morning than I’d planned. After a full day yesterday – 2 hour trainer ride (my longest post-accident), yoga class, grocery shopping, major dishwashing job, laundry laps, and cooking dinner – I’d racked up 32377 steps towards my Eat Well Live Well challenge. And I was beat! Ready for a good 8 hour sleep. Nope! Awake at 5:30. Dozing for another half hour…but awake nonetheless.

I let myself start the day slowly. I love this about weekends. Some space to spread out, let thoughts unwind, not have to think too far ahead. I had an outside run on tap, then the week’s meal prep, and then a sorting & cleaning mission at the old house. I was a little overwhelmed about the last bit.

Thank God for yoga. For every physical space that’s created in my body, I seem to find space in my spirit too.

And the run was good. Two 3/4 mile intervals of running, with 1/4 mile walks in between. Still not fast by any means – but I’ve never been fast by any means! Ha! If I can maintain good enough recovery to keep moving along this run progression, the next step is one mile intervals! So for next Sunday’s Flower City 5K I could potentially run MOST of it. Really excited to 1. get to the race well-recovered and 2. know my limits, so as not to end up with angry hips or Achilles / plantar fascia.

And the house bit went fine. šŸ™‚

It’s hard to put words to the experience of forgiveness. They all fall short. But my heart fills up when I see that no clouds are too thick, no muddle too confusing, and no tomb too deep to keep new life from finding a way.

It was a good Easter for me, and I hope it was for you too.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Everything Else, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter

  1. Sandy says:

    Your new life is finding a way to bloom. I am thrilled that Easter was a good day for you. It was good here at the Courter home as well – different but good and quite reflective. Have a blessed week.

Leave a Reply

