Shortest Race Report Ever

I had a seriously awesome time at my 10 year college reunion, which included my best 5K run ever. Since I’m short on time this morning but want to put this down before it gets buried by the workweek, here goes.

The 5K run was Saturday morning at 7:30am, which is a little bit brutal when trying to balance the run with being surrounded by tons of people you haven’t seen in a decade and want to spend time with. But since I’m on an early wakeup schedule anyway, I was pretty much fried by midnight on Friday night anyway. I went to bed and am glad I did. I am learning that sleep is really, really awesome.

The race route was a simple loop, and it was a route that I walk / ran a bit my senior year when I was dabbling in running. The first mile was mostly flat, then a cumulative downhill mile, followed by a cumulative uphill mile. Of course this is central Iowa, so the term “hill” needs to be taken lightly. The college track / cross country coach started us off with the instructions: “Start fast, then pick it up, and then sprint!” OK, Coach.

I was feeling good, glad I hadn’t had any drinkies the day before, since like 3 drams of alcohol is all I need for both fun and headache. I was well fueled and finally – FINALLY – my legs felt comfortable under me. Spent the first half mile finding a comfortable pace, making sure the ankles and knees and feet were all happy. I got to run with my friend Emily for the first couple of miles, which was nice. I’d set my Garmin to autolap, and the first mile came in at 9:33. Psyched. Anything under a 10 minute pace is good for me. I’d just run a 9:39 in a training run on Thursday morning and thought that was pretty blazing.

So I tried to pick it up a bit for the second mile, and combined with the downhill topography, ran a 9:06. Really? But the legs were feeling good, so I kept pushing the pace and ended up with the third mile at 9:01 despite the cumulative uphill. SUPER PSYCHED about that! Then ran it in, as close to sprinting as I come right now. Finished in 28:38, which is only my second 5K under 30 min…and the other one was well into the 29’s. Hot DIGGITY.

My legs recovered fine, no soreness. And the rest of the day was absolutely golden. Walks & talks with friends, perfect sunny weather, a swim in the swanky new college pool, tasty food everywhere we turned, and finally a little half glass of wine and dancing. I know it was just a half glass because the other half ended up splashed all over my legs and arms. But a Harris Party (referring to the Harris Center at Grinnell where the parties are held, NOT my place of employment!) isn’t a Harris Party if you don’t leave needing a shower.

OK – So for the shortest race report ever, that was still pretty long. And now it’s REALLY time for me to get moving, find enough food and clothing to eat today, and try not to combust upon reentry into real life.

For you Grinnellians, thanks for a really fantastic weekend.

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shortest Race Report Ever

  1. Sandy Courter says:

    So happy to hear about your college reunion! You’ve come a long way in ten years. Keep up the good life.
    Blessings,
    Sandy

  2. Great job on the race!!

Leave a Reply

