Connect the Dots

Tomorrow is my first tri of the season! It’s also my first tri since I broke myself in half 362 days ago. I am excited, and I am nervous! I’m not nervous about crashing or drowning or even pulling my achilles (more on that later). As always before races or hard workouts, I’m most scared of not putting it out there. Of getting scared, getting conservative, and sandbagging. Of not finding the line.

For this race – A Tri in the Buff sprint distance – I have several goals. In order of importance:

1. Start healthy. This means taking good care of my nutrition today and tomorrow morning. I’ve planned it out and will have it all prepped tonight so minimal thinking has to take place at 3:30am tomorow morning. Starting healthy also means dealing well with my achilles, arches, and legs in general. They’ve been really tight and pretty sore this week, so I’ve been rolling, doing yoga, and being extra aware of them during (and between) workouts. They’re ok to go tomorrow, but I know I need to pay attention to how they’re feeling and warm them up slowly.

2. Finish healthy! Carry out the nutrition plan, stay focused, keep the rubber side down, and keep those feet happy on the run.

3. Push it. Go as hard as my body will let me while still finishing healthy. Find that line! Can’t wait!

4. Beat my times from Keuka last year?? Last season’s Keuka Lake Tri sprint distance is the only other tri I’ve done, as my schedule last season got interrupted right along with my pelvis’ structural integrity. I just looked at my times online, and they were faster than I’d remembered! I honestly don’t know where I’ll be in comparison (granting that it’s a different course, different weather, different body, and different outlook). But it will be interesting!

5. Enjoy it! Whatever my time ends up being, I’ll be out there, with a whole bunch of excellent people, including some TT’ers, Coach Mary (who is also race announcing), and my parents, who are flying in from Wisconsin for the weekend. The weather forecast looks pretty good to boot. I’m going to soak it up and smile. Because doing this – being alive and healthy enough to choose to challenge yourself – is pretty incredible.

And to get there…all I need to do is connect the dots. I know where I want to be – the finish line, healthy and smiling and spent – and I know what I need to do to get there. Now I just need to take it step by step through my preparation (and laundry and housecleaning) today and through the race.

To to it off, my last dots of the day tomorrow will be a Nutella & banana crepe at Simply Crepes and then the Red, White & Booms concert at CMAC with my parents! Can a day get any better?

Stay tuned for the race report. šŸ™‚

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Connect the Dots

  1. Sandy Courter says:

    Because doing this – being alive and healthy enough to choose to challenge yourself – is pretty incredible….Yes, this is incredible. Best wishes. Have a great visit with your parents too! Blessings.

    • Thanks, Sandy. I’m really looking forward to their visit; we’ll see how my travel planning skills measure up to those of the master himself. šŸ™‚ Thinking about you, too, and hope you’re doing well.

  2. Sarah says:

    I am so proud of you – I’m sure today went well – can’t wait to read the race report – hope your sleep is blissful and pain free tonight – seriously you amaze me!

  3. danliburd says:

    Hey it was great to meet you at the Tri in the Buff. your blog looks great. – Dan

Leave a Reply

