Does this thing have brakes?

And by this thing I mean my life this month! After Tri in the Buff and my parents’ visit, I had a full week of work and training, and then I took off midday last Friday for a trade show in Ohio. It was both a great time and a lot of work; thankfully, I got to start tapering on Monday, so that took the edge off the workout time commitment. And after Sunday’s Miles of Misery swim, which I did in the teeny hotel pool, I was kind of glad not to have to do that again. I did 102 laps in 51 minutes in that pool…which, if you know my non-record-breaking swim speed might give you an idea of just how small the pool was. I think I probably looked like a little pink-capped pinball…

We drove home last night after breaking down our booth, and I finally got parked in bed about 11:45pm. I was DONE. Stick-a-fork-in-me done. Morning definitely came earlier today than I wanted, but I managed to get through the day without snapping at anyone, crying, or falling asleep on my keyboard. Thank God for taking one thing at a time and just laughing when people say things like, “So, are you all caught up now?”

But at the same time, I’m honestly a little nervous about my fatigue level. My races this weekend are the biggest of my season; Saturday is the mini-Mussel sprint tri, and Sunday is the half-iron Aquabike. Holy crap. At one point that sounded like a good idea! Actually, at the beginning of the 2010 season that sounded like a good idea, as this is just my rolled-over registration from last season. This is going to be a huge challenge for me…and when I looked on Facebook over my lunch hour today, most of my teammates are READY for this race. All I was ready for was a nap! Because of my work travel and not really having a weekend to catch up on sleep, laundry, or much of anything else, I’m going into this race fatigued. Makes me nervous, because I SO want to be ready.

So I’m focusing on what I CAN do. I can get good sleep the next three nights – which might entail ending this post and getting horizontal – and I can keep eating well. I was really intentional about eating well while I was traveling, to the point of carrying cubed baked tofu in cooler packs in my bag. Then in one surreptitious dump, even the most insipid grab & go garden salad becomes a protein-rich core-friendly meal! I also took soymilk, protein powder, and my friend the frother for protein shakes in my hotel room. High-maintenance? Yep. But better than coming out of traveling feeling crappy because of weak nutrition.

Anyhow – sleep, nutrition, positive attitude – because it IS a gift to be able to race. I was at the Musselman in a wheelchair last year, and I get to race this year. Can’t beat that.

I want to start and end both of my races healthy, go like hell in the Mini, and make it through the Aquabike feeling strong. This is by far the longest swim I’ve done in a race, and it freaks me out a little! But I will get through, one buoy at a time, one stroke at a time, and then have an awesome bike ride. I will race but also pace myself and keep my nutrition going.

And now, I will snooooze.

 

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Does this thing have brakes?

  1. Sandy Courter says:

    You said it, Solveig – sleep, nutrition, positive attitude – because it IS a gift to be able to race. Make wise choices! Be safe.
    Sandy

  2. Ruth H says:

    Solveig, I think you have your strategy for both the race, and life in general, –do what you can, with what you have control over, at this particular time—because then you can enjoy the gifts and still have choices. Sleep tight! Love. Mom

  3. Arik Hanson says:

    Wait, was that 102 laps in 51 minutes or 51 laps in 102 minutes? What am I saying, either way it’s impressive 😉

    • I think the only impressive thing was counting that high! This was one of those postage stamp pools that they shoot with a wide angle lens for the hotel website to make it look big. 🙂

Leave a Reply

