Pumpkins in the Park, Oven & Giant Box

Halloween weekend, so far, in pictures and hopefully very few words…because I have a haunted hayride to get to!

Pumpkins in the Park 5K Race

My race was excellent; my costume was…mostly nonexistent. I did wear an orange shirt and a race belt made from pumpkin ribbon, but I was not in prize territory for either my attire or my speed. BUT…in my own context, I’ve never felt better at a running race. I managed to negative split the race in terms of both pace and heart rate, even with the fairly significant hills in mile 2. (OK, so I negative split mile 2 by one second – but it counts! :)) Mostly I was really happy with how my run form is coming along, just with the few pointers I got a few weeks ago. Compared to how I’ve felt in the past while running, I felt like I was flying. And mile 3 was the fastest mile I’ve ever run; this was helped by being strongly downhill, but again, I’ll take the help I can get. If I dig into working on form during the winter, I am psyched to see where I can be by spring.

After the grownup race, they held a mascot race, and then kids’ races. How fun!

Recovery

After the run and a trainer ride, I put my feet up with some ice. Wow did that feel good. I also tried out a new pair of compression socks – where have they been all my life? Like wearing a little hug.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bye, Bye, Mr. Mystic

This is a Mystic Plus pie pumpkin, one of the really nice Powdery Mildew protected pumpkins we offer through Harris Seeds that I think is both tasty and classy looking. It’s been decorating my apartment for a few weeks now, but since I needed its stem for my costume and its…flesh…for my Halloween party concoction, into the oven it went.

Before

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After. So nice and roasty toasty!

 

I didn’t take a photo of the finished product, Sweet & Spicy Pumpkin Dip, which for tomorrow will be called Mystic Monster Mash…but I did take photos of the other tasty stuff I made. I like cooking. I equally like having an entire weeks’ worth of meals totally prepped and ready to go. Such a load off to know I have plenty of good, tasty nutrition at hand and don’t have to do prep during the week.

Tempeh Black Bean Tomatillo Stew. Serious yum, and enough for 5 dinners. ๐Ÿ™‚

Giant Box

My costume is going to be pretty fly for tomorrow, if I do say so myself. Fly or really, really silly, or both. Here’s a preview. It’s pretty much impossible both to wear it and photograph it, so more photos will come!

Yeah. Probably mostly silly. ๐Ÿ™‚

About solveighanson

I'm a (late) thirtysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. And hence the title of the blog: Don't call me a butterfly, because I'm not done changing.
This entry was posted in Food, Race Reports, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkins in the Park, Oven & Giant Box

  1. Ruth H says:

    Love the costume! and the photo-story of the weekend. I’m smiling and chuckling ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

