The reliquary

What are the relics in your life?
  he asked in a much loved sermon
  that no one I’ve asked
  seems to remember
 
The old ladies chortled
  while shaking his hand
  I think *I* am the relic
  deepest truth, deepest pain
  smoothed with commiseration
 
His point was that relics become
  gods themselves
That times past
  idealized in selective memory
  cannot be the objects of our yearning
That people passed
  must be grieved
  not deified
 
That in grief we keep
  their memory
  their once-presence
  from becoming a trap
  of now-imagined expectations
  without the possibility of tangible check
 
Will you love me even if I don’t succeed?
If you don’t understand me, am I Understood?
 
In grief we let our precious ones be human
  temporary
  serendipitous
  ephemeral assemblies of smallest bits
  divine and destructible

We return ourselves
  terrifyingly
  and with merciful, ocean-cold relief
  to our own ephemerality
  to the depth from which the reliquary arises
  and will necessarily fall again  

About solveighanson

I'm a newly fortysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. For a while, I'd titled this blog 'Don't call me a butterfly' because I didn't feel done changing. And while I'm still not done changing, I now realize that neither are butterflies. Ha! So...I've modified the title til a different and better one comes along.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment