Things noticed in times of truth and sadness

how the domed greenhouses
            I’ve seen a thousand times
            have pointed square hats
            jaunty in their ventilation
 
how I can see the roof of the parking ramp
            from here
            the trucks on top
            sparse, cold, unprotected by snow
            in solidarity
 
how houseplants stretch towards cloudy sky
            there is nourishment
            if not abundance
            what we need
            if not all we want
 
Truth is the cleanest museum case for grief
            hard angles
            spotless glass
            pain honored
            for its singular
            searing
            splendor

About solveighanson

I'm a newly fortysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. For a while, I'd titled this blog 'Don't call me a butterfly' because I didn't feel done changing. And while I'm still not done changing, I now realize that neither are butterflies. Ha! So...I've modified the title til a different and better one comes along.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment