Requiem for a Lab Protocol

As many of you know, my doctoral thesis comprises two experiments and a breeding project revolving around geosmin, the molecule that confers earthy aroma to table beets. I, like the two Goldman Lab beet researchers before me, have measured geosmin in table beets with the GC-MS (gas chromatograph-mass spectrometer), an instrument that measures the abundance of molecules by separating them by size and structure. 

A rainbow of beet slurry. Each vial represents a single root descended from a Touchstone Gold (medium-low geosmin) x Chioggia (medium-high geosmin) cross. For the plant breeders in the crowd, these are F2:3 individuals derived from a population of F2 individuals segregating for geosmin.

Over the past four years, I’ve spent about 350 hours – about 21,000 minutes, if your calculator isn’t handy – converting 2,276 beet slurry samples into data points representing geosmin concentration. 

This particular GC-MS protocol requires two 1.5-hour work periods, morning and night, at either end of its 8-hour process. It becomes either a constant companion or a taskmaster, depending on my perspective. The work is divided into two-week “campaigns,” a word chosen by my predecessors that captures the dogged and results-driven nature of the work but obscures its requirement for solitude and decided lack of festivity. The work is quiet and the frozen test tubes cold on the fingertips; it requires precision, rewards an abiding spirit that tolerates repetition and fatigue. It has honed my capacity to be exactly where I am, to allow minutiae to whisper me their wisdom.

Beets on Ice. 335 samples of beet slurry (at 2 vials each) waiting to help me discover genetic regions associated with geosmin concentration in table beet.

I learned several years ago that the GC-MS is unconcerned with my mood or what I might be missing in the world outside of my lab. It wants exactly 1.95 microliters of menthone per beet slurry vial, please and thank you; it wants its autosampler magnet wiped ever-so-gently each day; it wants its septum changed every third run, after allowing 35 minutes for its injection port to reach 40 degrees C. And if I don’t abide, it doesn’t rage; it just responds with numbers that don’t make sense and waits patiently, maintaining resting temperature, while I cry or swear in anticipation of weekend sleep lost or another late, solitary fried-egg dinner. It’s there, when I’m ready, to supply correct data, accumulating in graceful right-skewed distributions, of the geosmin in exactly twelve silver-capped vials of beet slurry at a time. It may be oblivious to the resplendence of its magenta or fire-gold or purple-grey subjects, but it is meticulously attentive to its task.

Our GC-MS protocol calculates geosmin concentration compared to the concentration of another molecule, menthone. That means I need to inject exactly the same amount of menthone into each sample vial. This season, for some inscrutable reason, it was quite challenging to mix a functional menthone standard. This red & white lineup was an effort to find a good one, and more importantly, to figure out the method by which I could repeatably mix one.

After four years and 233 repetitions, this GC-MS protocol has become both a tool and a teacher. It has taught me not to force.  It has taught me to pay patient attention, to do things right instead of twice. It has taught me that what I do when I’m alone counts. It has taught me to show up, except when I can’t. That there is such a thing as too much. 

I can’t say that I will miss it. I’ve learned how to fill the margins of my days with beautiful things to do and people to be with, so I don’t need my time occupied as I once did. But like any challenging teacher, this protocol presented a barrier to my habits and assumptions that, over time, became a mirror. It’s helped me see, and it’s helped me see myself. And for that I owe it a proper goodbye.

About solveighanson

I'm a newly fortysomething Plant Breeding Ph.D. student, daughter / sister / auntie, vegetable fan, yogi, sometime cyclist, and enthusiastic if infrequent baker. I started this blog in the summer of 2010 to trace my recovery from a pelvic fracture sustained in a cycling accident. That healing process was truly transformative, and since then I seem to have written mostly about the transformations that have followed. For a while, I'd titled this blog 'Don't call me a butterfly' because I didn't feel done changing. And while I'm still not done changing, I now realize that neither are butterflies. Ha! So...I've modified the title til a different and better one comes along.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment